Just a Moment: Into the Woods at StageWorks Fresno

just a moment The moment, intensely brief though it was, pounded my heart into my throat for its raw power and desperation. In Act II, when the Witch is giving her mightiest effort to convince the others to give up Jack to the Giant, she becomes so frustrated with their lack of decisiveness that she shouts, with a distinct note of panic in her voice, “Wake up! People are DYING!”

Amalie Larsen’s delivery was so pointed and sharp that it filled the entire room. And what’s more, it fed the very next moment. . . a fight between Tyler Branco’s Baker and Hayley Galbraith’s Baker’s Wife.  Because Larsen’s terror elevated the energy, Branco and Galbraith were able to feed off of it and raise their own sharp work in the next difficult scene. And that scene culminated in Galbraith’s “Is there nothing which will cease your bickering?!” – delivered with a frustration and sadness that hits one in the gut.

Anyone who has found themselves having to make snap decisions in a terrifying, emergency situation knows this moment in their gut.  And the way that one actor’s work propelled the required energy into the next scene was expertly demonstrated here.

StageWorks Fresno’s Into the Woods runs until July 19th. Click to http://www.stageworksfresno.com for more information.


About Just a Moment
The conundrum: I used to review shows. I no longer do unless specifically asked. But from time to time I still like to tell the world a little something about what I saw. My solution: The “Just a Moment” where I will discuss one moment in a show I watch that I found effective (or perhaps ALMOST effective?) and then try to articulate why.  Not the whole show, not a review, just something that struck me personally.

They’ll be compiled in this category, if you’d like to see the other Moments.  (And yes, the idea struck me while watching Into the Woods.)

Leave a Reply

