THEATER READS: What to blog about? plus: comedy, fringe, and The Bard.

So, it’s been a while since I posted.  I apologize for that.  But it has been a great summer on the theater front, hasn’t it?  In Fresno there was a whirlwind of terrific theater happening- from new musicals, to literary classics, to my own company’s production of a little known title that turned out to be a huge hit. . . it’s a great time to do theater in the San Joaquin Valley.

But it’s also hard to do theater in the SJV.  But if it weren’t hard, I guess everyone would do it, eh?

Anyways, while I haven’t been writing, I have been reading a lot and blog posts have been percolating in the back of my brain.  A few ideas:

  • Reading lists for those looking to expand their repertoire of drama.
  • What is ‘theatricality’?
  • Are we artists or are we entertainers? (We all know the answer: it’s BOTH!)
  • Why is ‘vision’ so important for directors?
  • Should there be fewer theaters or more? (The head of the NEA says “fewer”, by the way.)
  • Is there value in having local awards? Even awards within a single company?
  • The importance of choosing plays with the space in mind- and using the space with the play in mind.
  • What defines an “Independent” theater?

Yeah, this is the kind of nonsense the runs through my head pretty frequently- even when I’m NOT working on a show.


So if a few of those topics interest you, let me know.  Leave a comment.  Otherwise, I’ll wander my way through these and other topics of the theatrical bent as we head into fall.

In the meantime, here are a few articles I found of interest recently:

Janet Suzman ‘mad as a snake’ over Rylance and Shakespeare ‘myths’
The Guardian UK – and if you don’t know who Janet Suzman or Mark Rylance are, please find out!

Fringe: The Definition of the Term
2AMt – and if you don’t know what 2AMt is for– go to the site, figure it out, and follow it.

Why Comedy is Truer to Life than Tragedy
Wall Street Journal– and if you don’t follow @terryteachout on Twitter, you should.

Leave a Reply

